Safestore, GB00B1N7Z094

Safestore stock reacts to Oddo BHF downgrade and trades below revised target

Published on 09/19/2026 at 13:03 | Editorial responsibility: Rafael Müller, Editor-in-Chief AD HOC NEWS

Safestore stock faced selling pressure after Oddo BHF cut its rating and reduced the price target on September 16, 2026, while the London-listed shares closed below the new level. The UK self-storage REIT also highlights modest revenue growth and a higher dividend from fiscal year 2024 in its latest annual report.

Fotorealistische Aufnahme eines modernen Selfstorage-Gebäudekomplexes mit Rolltoren
Fotorealistisches Motiv eines modernen Selfstorage-Gebäudes veranschaulicht Safestore Holdings plc, ISIN GB00B1N7Z094, führenden britischen Self-Storage-Betreiber, Illustration mit AI erstellt.

Safestore Holdings plc stock (ISIN GB00B1N7Z094) came under renewed pressure after Oddo BHF lowered its recommendation and cut its price target on the shares as of September 16, 2026, with the London-listed stock closing below the broker's revised level on that day according to Zonebourse on September 16, 2026. For investors, the combination of a cautious new analyst stance and a market price below the updated fair value is now a central theme around Safestore stock.

Oddo BHF trims rating and target

According to Zonebourse on September 16, 2026, Oddo BHF reduced its rating on Safestore from a more positive stance to a neutral view and simultaneously lowered its price target for the UK self-storage group. The downgrade places Safestore stock in a more cautious category compared with its previous recommendation and signals that the broker sees less upside potential from current levels than before. While the exact old and new target levels are not broken out in detail in the accessible summary, the key point for investors is that the revised target now stands above the market price, creating a valuation gap that reflects both the broker's more restrained expectations and the market's response.

As Ad-hoc financial news reported on September 18, 2026, Safestore shares on the London Stock Exchange, where they trade under the ticker SAFE, closed the session on September 16, 2026 at a level below the reduced Oddo BHF price target in sterling terms. The same report highlights that the closing price also remained below the historical price-to-book median used in recent analyses, indicating that the stock trades at a discount both to the broker's updated fair value and to longer term valuation benchmarks. For investors, this quantified discount creates a tension between cautious analyst messaging and the potential for re-rating if operational performance continues to hold up.

Latest fundamentals and dividend profile

The broader fundamental backdrop for Safestore remains shaped by its most recent full-year results for fiscal year 2024, which are the latest annual figures within the freshness window relative to September 19, 2026. In its 2024 Annual Report and Accounts, Safestore states that group revenue at constant exchange rates grew by 1.1% year on year, underscoring that top-line momentum was positive but moderate in the period according to Safestore. For a storage-focused real estate investment trust, even low single-digit revenue growth can be meaningful when combined with stable occupancy rates and disciplined cost control, as it supports the capacity to maintain or gradually grow distributions.

In the same 2024 annual report, Safestore announced a dividend per share of 30.4 pence for the fiscal year, which represents an increase compared with the prior year's payout according to Safestore. Although the exact prior-year dividend figure is not specified in the snippet, the explicit characterization of the 30.4 pence dividend as higher than before signals that Safestore continues to manage its capital to deliver growing cash returns to shareholders. Historically, Safestore has presented itself as a progressive dividend payer, and the 1.1% revenue increase alongside a higher dividend suggests that management is prepared to pass incremental earnings strength to investors.

Looking ahead, Safestore's financial calendar shows an entry dated September 19, 2026 for an investor-related event at 11:00, which underlines that the company continues to actively engage with the market according to Safestore. While the calendar entry does not specify the exact nature of the event in the visible extract, it signals a near term touchpoint at which Safestore may provide further detail on trading or reiterate guidance, which can be important for clarifying how the business is performing relative to analyst expectations after the Oddo BHF downgrade.

Dividend timing and investor perspective

From an income perspective, Safestore's shares also continue to attract attention around ex-dividend dates. An overview of upcoming ex-dividend events lists the London-traded Safestore Holdings plc under the symbol SAFE.L with a dividend amount of 10.2000 pence, corresponding to a yield of 4.07% at the reference price used in the overview according to Digrin with data as of September 3, 2026. This 10.2000 pence distribution forms part of the overall 30.4 pence dividend per share announced for fiscal year 2024 and provides a concrete checkpoint for income-focused investors to access Safestore's cash returns. The indicated yield of 4.07% illustrates that the stock offers a relatively attractive income stream when compared with risk-free rates, while still trading at a discount to both the reduced Oddo BHF target and the historical price-to-book median noted by Ad-hoc financial news.

For investors, the quantified combination of a 1.1% revenue increase at constant exchange rates in fiscal year 2024, a higher total dividend per share of 30.4 pence, and a 10.2000 pence ex-dividend amount yielding 4.07% as of early September 2026 sketches a profile of a stock where fundamental cash generation and distributions are steady, but sentiment has turned more cautious at least at one key broker. The Oddo BHF downgrade and price target reduction send a signal that growth and valuation risks need closer monitoring, particularly in a macro environment where interest rates affect the relative attractiveness of income-oriented REITs like Safestore. Yet the visible discount of the share price to both the revised target and historical valuation yardsticks leaves room for investors to debate whether the downgrade fully captures the long term potential of the group's self-storage footprint.

Safestore stock price context

Safestore Holdings shares trade on the London Stock Exchange under the ticker SAFE as a real estate investment trust focused on self-storage facilities, placing them within the UK listed REIT universe as highlighted by Ad-hoc financial news. On September 16, 2026, the closing price on the primary London listing stood below both the reduced Oddo BHF price target and the historical price-to-book median referenced in recent analyses, underscoring that the shares are priced at a discount to revised broker fair value and longer term valuation benchmarks according to the same source. While detailed intraday levels, exact closing price, and 52-week high and low are part of live share price analysis tools, the orientation for readers is that as of mid-September 2026 the stock continues to trade below those key comparison levels.

Against this backdrop, the relationship between Safestore's market price and its fundamentals has become a focal question. The 1.1% revenue growth in fiscal year 2024 and the increased 30.4 pence dividend per share provide evidence of operational resilience and cash distribution capacity according to Safestore, while the Oddo BHF downgrade documented by Zonebourse on September 16, 2026 reflects concerns over valuation, growth trajectory or sector risks. The presence of a 10.2000 pence ex-dividend amount implying a 4.07% yield as of September 3, 2026 according to Digrin further illustrates that the stock offers material income while being priced below revised broker and historical valuation reference points. For investors assessing Safestore stock around September 19, 2026, the key is to weigh the cautious analyst stance and valuation discount against the still supportive dividend and revenue trends.

Safestore Holdings stock key data

  • Company: Safestore Holdings plc
  • ISIN: GB00B1N7Z094
  • Ticker: SAFE
  • Trading venue: London Stock Exchange
  • Sector / Industry: Real Estate Investment Trusts, Self-storage
  • Index membership: UK listed REIT universe

More news and analyses on Safestore stock

Disclaimer...

en | GB00B1N7Z094 | SAFESTORE | boerse | 70131400 | bgmi